Cancer Research Department


research team photo shop 1A cancer research group within the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency was established in May 1990. Initial funding was provided through an award from the Terry Fox Regional Development Grant from the National Cancer Institute of Canada. Partners in the grant were the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency and the University of Saskatchewan College of Medicine. The grant allowed four research scientists to be recruited as employees of the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency and who also hold cross appointments in the University.

Between 1990 and 2013 several additional University faculty cancer researchers were associated with this group and together they made a dynamic and active Cancer Research Centre. In May 2013 all members of group were relocated into the new Health Sciences building on the University of Saskatchewan campus within the Cancer Cluster and Translational Cancer Research Cluster. The four Saskatchewan Cancer Agency Cancer researchers - Dr. Deborah Anderson, Dr. Dean Chamberlain, Dr. Franco Vizeacoumar and Dr. Jim Xiang - are located within the cancer cluster.


Core support for the Cancer Research Department comes from the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency. Research operating grant funding is obtained by competitive peer-reviewed funds from local and national agencies including the: Saskatchewan Cancer Agency, Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation (SHRF), Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF), Cancer Research Society (CRS), Canadian Foundation for Innovation (CFI), Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation (Fedoruk Centre).

Training Opportunities - Undergraduate, Graduate and Post-Doctoral

Cancer Agency research scientists provide state-of-the-art laboratory experiences with a very active training environment for summer students, fourth-year honours research project students, M.Sc. and Ph.D. level graduate students and Post-Doctoral Fellows. Each scientist holds an Adjunct appointment in the Division of Oncology, College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan. In addition, each is typically also an Adjunct member of a second department such as Biochemistry, Anatomy and Cell Biology, Microbiology and Immunology and/or Pathology. The scientists actively participate in these departments and can teach in both undergraduate and graduate courses. This also enables the scientists to supervise graduate students within these academic departments. Undergraduate students within these departments can obtain research experience during the summer months when they are employed as summer students. Many of these students eventually go on to graduate work.

Undergraduate, prospective graduate students and post-Ph.D. graduates interested in research opportunities can view the research areas for our scientists and opportunities for employment currently available.


Deborah Anderson, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Senior Research Scientist
Cancer Cluster Leader
Rm 4D30.2 Health Sciences Bldg
University of Saskatchewan
107 Wiggins Road
Saskatoon, SK Canada S7N 5E5
Phone: 306-966-7038
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Learn More